Gone Girl **** (WARNING: A FEW POSSIBLE SPOILER ALERT!)

IMG_1788I’ve finally finished another book. It feels like I say that every time haha. I guess I should come up with a new intro 😛 Or start reading faster/more. Anyway, today’s book is called Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I’m sure most if not all of you have either seen the movie or read the book by now. I’m usually the one who reads the book well before anyone else, but apparently I’ve fallen off track in that department. Anyway, I really really liked this book, and it wasn’t what I expected it to be. I do have to admit, that halfway through I couldn’t stand it any longer, and I did Wikipedia the shhh out of it haha so I knew the plot twist before I finished it (I should really stop doing that…) but to be completely honest, it wasn’t what I had expected AT ALL. Gillian Flynn does a superb job at making the main female character creepy as eff, and at the beginning I thought the husband was a terrible human being, but by the end I completely switched my views.

Synopsis:

On the day of their 5-year anniversary, Nick’s wife, Amy randomly disappears without a trace, leaving only a few clues and a destroyed living room. An investigation follows and all evidence is piling up towards Nick.  After Nick and his sister discover the final clue in his traditional anniversary treasure hunt, Nick determines that his wife is actually trying to frame him, so he then goes on to try and hunt her down and prove his innocence. Amy is a true psychopath, manipulative, controlling, and shows no remorse.

Although it throws me off that Amy was in fact the villain, it’s a breath of fresh air to be perfectly honest. It’s crazy to think that there probably are women out there who are actually like that, and that poor men get sucked into relationships with them.

Anyway, I definitely recommend this book to anyone! So please read it and let me know your thoughts!

Happy reading!

Trinda

Leave a Reply

