My Life Lately (Mid-January to Mid-February)

Mileage for January 2015: 44.86km

Mileage for February 2015 (so far): 4.94 km

Mileage for #100DaysofMiles: 48km/161km (30miles/100miles)

Mileage for #2015in2015: 50km/1623km (31miles/1008miles)

Unfortunately, I’ve fallen off the wagon when it comes to weekly updates. Sad, I know, but that seems to happen. I do things for a few weeks, lose interest. It’s like I have ADHD or something.

Anyway, the rest of January was pretty low-key. I continued to run (at least until it started snowing, and never stopped) and even got my fastest 5k time in about a year! (36mins!) It all started when I went out for a run with 2 other ladies. I find when I run with other people that my next few runs really pick up the pace. I tend to get lazy when I run by myself, so having people there to push me to do more really helps my speed.

5.2k with Lisa and Isabelle
5.2k with Lisa and Isabelle overview

That WAS my fastest time, and then I went for a run and surprised myself with another fast 5k (which is currently my PB for the year), and there was even a big hill halfway through, and I managed to power up it, AND still maintain a good pace!

My PB for the year (so far)!
My PB for the year (so far)!

I kept up with yoga, and decided to make it my journey to take pictures of my progress as I went along. I fell off that band wagon as soon as I stopped running unfortunately, so I only have 1 or 2 pictures. But I’m definitely going to attempt to practice twice a week for now.

Crow Pose. I hope to get both feet off the blocks sometime in the future!
Crow Pose. I hope to get both feet off the blocks sometime in the future!
Baby Grasshopper pose
Baby Grasshopper pose
Camel Pose with blocks. I want to work on back flexibility
Camel Pose with blocks. I want to work on back flexibility
Another Crow Pose
Another Crow Pose
I've been taking a Yoga for Runners class, which has really been helping with my stretching.
I’ve been taking a Yoga for Runners class, which has really been helping with my stretching.

I also found some pretty hilarious yoga pictures too!

I want a t-shirt that says this
I want a t-shirt that says this
My new excuse at work
My new excuse at work
Pretty much why I have a hard time at yoga classes haha
Pretty much why I have a hard time at yoga classes haha

Then the snow started. We had 3 large storms dump 30cms each over a span of a week. Needless to say, I did nothing but shovel, and watch it snow for that time period.

How I felt after all that shovelling.
How I felt after all that shovelling.

I drove to Halifax during one of the lulls in the storms, as I had to go to a funeral, but unfortunately, my friend and I ended up getting snowed in anyway, and couldn’t make it 😦 I did get to spend some quality time with her and her pup Dawson!

He decided I should move my arm anymore....
He decided I shouldn’t move my arm anymore….

Halifax got mostly freezing rain during that storm…However, I got home, and this is what I came to. Looking it up online, I saw we got close to 125cms of snow in about a week and a half. NOT COOL MAN, NOT COOL!

The only place Ghost and run freely.
The only place Ghost can run freely.

We found out on February 6th, that MrRBW’s sister had a little baby girl! And it was on his father’s birthday! I would post a picture of the baby, but seeing as it’s not my child, I don’t want to be spreading pictures of an infant without permission. But all I can say is SHE’S ADORABLE FOR A NEWBORN! I’m happy to say that baby and Mama are home safe and sound, and there were no complications. I’m more excited than MrRBW as it’s my first niece (and technically, his too)! However, MrRBW is certain that he will only see that child a few times in her lifetime. But I’d like to make more of an effort, but we shall see in the coming years.

On Sunday, we celebrated my dad’s birthday by going out to dinner, and then eating cake back at home. It was great to spend some time with my family, and celebrate another year with them. This also happened:

You'd think she was going to get fed or something....
You’d think she was going to get fed or something….
We told her to go lay down, so instead she turned around as if to say, "see I'm not begging!"
We told her to go lay down, so instead she turned around as if to say, “see I’m not begging!”

I counted out the weeks to my first 5k race of the year (April 19, 2015!) and realized, that if I want a PR, I should definitely start training now, so I’m using a mixture of the HighStride App and Coach Jenny Hadfield’s Intermediate 5k training regime. I ran 4.94km yesterday on the treadmill, and did well up until about the 20min mark, and then I started to die out which isn’t so bad when I hadn’t been running for 2 weeks. It certainly wasn’t my fastest run, but I’m only beginning 🙂 I’m making it my goal, that this round for training, I’m really going to make an effort to crosstrain by hopefully swimming, or using the stationary bike at the gym.

Anyway, that’s my life lately! Hopefully, I’ll get back on track and continue with my “Week in Review” posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

