Week in Review (December 29, 2014-January 4, 2015)

Another week is finished…I thankfully didn’t work as much this week, so I got to recuperate with MrRBW and Ghost and my family, as well as ring in the New Year with a good friend and her dog.

Mileage for this week: 13.19kms

Mileage towards #100DaysofMiles: 8.71km/161kms (5.41miles/100miles)

Mileage towards #2015in2015: 8.71km/1623kms (5.41miles/1008miles)

MONDAY

I got a run in (and took a runfie). I’ve definitely got some bronchitis/asthma-like symptoms going on still especially when I run outside, but I still enjoyed the run either way. Ghost also joined me. She’s been doing so well since we bought a harness and new leash for her. She still gets super-excited when meeting other dogs (she assumes all dogs want to automatically play with her, so she tends to lunge forward at them to sniff and greet), but she’s improved leaps and bounds since we first adopted her.

Overview
Overview
My runfie stating I was preparing for the #100DaysofMiles challenge
My runfie stating I was preparing for the #100DaysofMiles challenge

TUESDAY

I’m skipping this day. Nothing interesting that I can remember happened…Other than going out for supper with my family and then seeing the Hobbit in 3D. Let’s just say, I laughed extremely hard at the trolls bashing head first into brick buildings. And also Radagast the Brown is my spirit animal.

WEDNESDAY

Ah…New Year’s Eve day…We woke up to it snowing. Which is pretty in it’s own right, but when you have plans to drive 2hrs (and considering Nova Scotia’s lack of snow removal the last few years) it’s not a welcomed sight. Thankfully it stopped, so MrRBW, Ghost and I prepared to venture to Halifax to ring in the New Year with UniBestie1 and her beautiful dog Dawson. I was a little weary at first because Ghost is quite overbearing, overly excitable, while Dawson is the opposite. But thankfully, it all ended up fine. Ghost put Dawson in his place (he kept trying to steal her food. She was having none of that), and they played happily. Unfortunately, Ghost did end up humping Dawson multiple times (we think out of excitement and possible anxiety), but Dawson accepted his fate and moved on. We celebrated New Years by eating a ton of delicious food, drinking some amazing wine (Yellow Tail Moscato, and Moselland Ars Vitis Riesling), and playing Mario Party, Mario Cart, and watching Jem and the Holograms. We went to bed early because UniBestie1 had to work in the morning. Unfortunately, no one (including the dogs) slept well that night, as the people next door were yelling until about 3am, and there was also a domestic dispute around that time. All in all, it was a great way to spend New Years.

Ghost looking pleased with herself over humping Dawson. Poor Dawson looks defeated.
Ghost looking pleased with herself over humping Dawson. Poor Dawson looks defeated.

THURSDAY

I participated in the GRC Resolution 5k Run. When we started it was below 0 and snowing and then it warmed up considerably and the sun came out, so unfortunately I was over dressed. I thought I was going to die near the end as I was so overheated, and my breathing was suffering…but there was an awesome reward of chili and other delicious food! That evening, we headed to Mom and Dad’s for a ham dinner, which was delicious (my mother really outdoes herself with her cooking!). After sufficiently stuffing ourselves, we came home to vegetate in our food comas.

Overview of the Resolution Run
Overview of the Resolution Run
On the way back, really struggling...
On the way back, really struggling…
At the beginning, looking fresh
At the beginning, looking fresh
Ghost moustache you a question: how was your 2014?
Ghost moustache you a question: how was your 2014?

FRIDAY

It snowed a nice pretty fluffy snow. MrRBW was able to capture a great photo of the sun shining on the tree out front. Unfortunately, but the end of the day, it had gotten quite blustery, so the snow was blowing around and causing some nasty drifts 😦

IMG_1463

SATURDAY

Back to the daily grind. I worked 8am-4pm. Thankfully, we got to take some youth to the gym, so I got a good treadmill run in. My calves were burning though as I used some running shoes I haven’t used in awhile (Saucony Grid 5’s).

Stats
Stats

SUNDAY

Not much to report, I worked 10-10 so my day was surrounded by work related things. It was nasty weather though, and I almost hit a deer on my drive home. Other than that uneventful πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

