I am Malala: the Girl Who Stood Up For Education and Was Shot by the Taliban ****

I finished I am Malala. Which for those of you don’t know, it’s the book about Malala Yousafzai, the Pakistani girl who got shot a few years ago by the Taliban on the way home from school. I didn’t realize that she was an activist for women’s/girls’ rights, and she’s only 16. I thought she was just a girl who, on her way from school was shot in the face point blank by the Taliban. I didn’t realize there was such a backstory. Malala and her father were activists (she was an activist from a very young age, and earned herself many rewards) for girls’ rights to an education. Her father (as well as herself by the end) had been getting death threats for supporting and preaching “secularism”. It’s unfortunate that she did end up getting shot, but thankfully, she didn’t end up dying, but rather rose above it, and ended up receiving a Nobel Peace Prize.

I really did enjoy this book. My only thing I was surprised about was how much backstory on the politics of Pakistan there was. As it was supposed to have been written by Malala herself, I wasn’t really sure if it was because she had an interest in it, or if the co-author thought it was necessary. Either way, I wasn’t particularly interested in that aspect. But I suppose, now that I think about it, it is definitely necessary to put the political background into the book, seeing as that’s why she was shot in the first place. There was one thing that bothered me in this book; the writing seemed very childish. I’m not sure if that’s because that’s how Malala speaks, or whether they wanted her to seem very innocent. It really isn’t something major, it just bothered me.

I think that’s about all I have to say about the book. Overall, definitely a recommendation!

7 thoughts on “I am Malala: the Girl Who Stood Up For Education and Was Shot by the Taliban ****

  1. fictionistasan December 27, 2014 / 10:51 AM

    I really liked this book, yeah the language isn’t that good but the sentiment behind the words manages to touch my heart. 🙂 🙂

    Like

      • fictionistasan December 27, 2014 / 11:47 AM

        🙂 yeah.. Have you read Khaleed Hosseini’s books?

        Like

      • tildy08 December 27, 2014 / 11:50 AM

        I have! I haven’t read his most recent one though. I was reminded of his books while reading this one 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • fictionistasan December 27, 2014 / 11:54 AM

        Yeah that is exactly why I asked you 🙂 🙂 I was reminded of his book when I read this too… 🙂 and his recent one is awesome! ❤

        Like

      • tildy08 December 29, 2014 / 9:54 AM

        I guess I’ll have to put it on my “soon-to-be-read” list!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

