Is Everybody Hanging Out Without Me? (And other Concerns) ****

Yeah, so two posts in 1 day. Now if that isn’t a feat, I don’t know what is!

I told you guys I’d be publishing a book review shortly, but I didn’t think it’d be this quickly…Anyway, on our way to New Minas, I sadly finished Mindy Kaling’s glorious book Is Everybody Hanging Out Without Me? I wasn’t really sure what to expect, as I’m not usually one for memoir or collections of essay type books, but honestly, this one was pretty funny. I obviously knew who Mindy was, but I’ve never watched her show, or The Office (I know, shocker, right? To answer your question, no I don’t live under a rock…), but I wasn’t expecting it to be laugh out loud funny. When I first started reading it, I was in the ER (for this damn infection), and I honestly had to hold back the chuckles. All I could think about is that I’m laughing away reading, while the other 4 people in the waiting area are probably having the worse day of their week. But anyway…

Reading this book was like talking to a best friend (although I guess it’d be mostly like a friend talking to you without letting you get a word in edge-wise). It was funny, down-to-earth and extremely relatable. During some of her essays, I would think to myself, “is she talking about me? It certainly seems like it!” I’m not sure if men would be able to relate to the book as well as women, but I say, hey! give it a try, amiright?

Now onward to I am Malala.

Leave a Reply

